After the institute gained its statutory backing of time profession by obtaining the builder’s (Registration etc.) Decree Number 45 of 1989, from the Federal Government of Nigerian. Lagos State Chapter of NIOB emerge as a result of acknowledgement of more vibrant members in the National body and it was the first chapter of NIOB in Nigeria.


Lagos state being the then nation’s capital and the major hub of NIOB’s activities from onset could not have been vibrant and articulate without the efforts her founding fathers such as Bldr. (Otunba) F.I Oshikoya, FNIOB, PPNIOB, Late. Bldr. (Chief) M.A Elebiju- FNIOB, PPNIOB, Late. Bldr. E.O Ajala-FNIOB, PPNIOB, Bldr. (Prof.) Kunle Ade Wahab- FNIOB, PPNIOB, Late. Bldr. Oyefeko- FNIOB,PPNIOB,PPAPBN, Bldr. (Prof.) D.A Muazu-FNIOB,PPNIOB, Late. Bldr. Gbadebo Ademoroti- FNIOB.PPNIOB and Bldr. Adewale Odunlami- FNIOB, PPNIOB, but to mention a few, worked hard for the care and the sustenance of the profession even when her tomorrow was not bright, to formed now called NIOB Lagos state chapter.

Few reasons that contributed to late take off of the chapter were enumerated as follows;


  1. The pioneer members of the institute were mostly based in Lagos state at that time and see no reasons why same set of members will be running the affairs of national and state same time coupled with her few memberships.
  2. They were embedded and engulf with the promotion and building its membership level among other built environment who could not easily accept them rather than forming a state chapter.

As the profession continue to strive for growth and recognition among other profession within the nation through sensitization and propagation of her duties and obligations there was need for state chapters to come up and consolidate the gains of her founding fathers in different parts of the country, hence there is need for state chapters of which Lagos state was the very first to be so establish.


Bldr. Omoniyi was then saddled with the responsibility to reorganize the dwindling activities of the chapter by the National body but later the chapter went silent for many years until another caretaker committee came in to reignite the torch of the 1st State Chapter of NIOB in the year 1987 and was head by Bldr. (Mrs.) I.O Bolarinwa, enduring processes were put in place and corresponding actions were taken such as organizing the first election in 1988 and Bldr. Awala L.K.A -FNIOB was elected to lead the chapter as her first Chairman who served between 1988-1990, he also organised the 1st Annual General Meeting in 1988 at Yaba College of Technology but with no conference.


Followings were elected and served meritoriously within stated tenure


Bldr. (Pastor) Femi Adenusi (1990-1991)
Under the distinguish leadership of Bldr. (Pastor) Femi Adenusi the state chapter held her 1st Conference and Annual General Meeting was held at University of Lagos conference centre in October 1991 themed- Introduction to Computer Applications in Construction Industry. It was borne out of yearning for the continuous professional development of members in the area of Information Technology, also gathered to deliberate and find solutions to prevalent problems of common concerns.


Followings were men and women of great potentials who had saddled the affairs of the chapter by keeping to the ethos of her founding fathers;


Bldr. Ogunlesi Abayomi 1991 – 1994
Bldr. Dola Arilesere -FIONB 1994 – 1995
Bldr. Joseph Afanu -FNIOB 1995 – 1997


During Bldr. Joseph Afanu tenure it was unanimously agreed at the 1997 Annual general Meeting that future Chairmen with their executives should be in office for a minimum period of one-year renewable once but maximum of two years. In 1998 the chapter could not organise her regular Annual conference and Annual general meeting because executive committee could not be constituted for the period.


Next were;
Bldr. A.O Naiyeju -FNIOB 1999 – 2001
Bldr. S.O Jaiyesimi -FNIOB 2001 – 2003
Bldr. (Mrs.) M.O. Ogunaike – Tobun -FNIOB 2003 – 2005 – (As first female builder chairperson of the state chapter.)
Bldr. J.O Dada FNIOB 2005 – 2007
Bldr. Kunle Awobodu FNIOB 2007 – 2009
Bldr. Morouf A. Abass FNIOB 2009 – 2011
Bldr. Jelili A. Akinpelu FNIOB 2011 – 2013
Bldr. Asimiyu Bashir MNIOB 2013 – 2015
Bldr. Adenike Said FNIOB 2015 – 2017
Bldr. Adelaja Adekanmbi FNIOB 2017 till date.


The Chapters Office is currently located at, The Builders’ House, CORBON Office, Eric-Moore Towers, Off Bode Thomas Street, Surulere, Lagos.


The chapter has a consulting company and is currently working on her By-law.

Connect With Us!

Need to get in touch with or make an inquiry about something?
Click the button to get in touch.